Department of Natural Resources

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) develops and implements wildlife, fish and forestry improvement activities and regulates hunting, fishing and gathering on the reservation. It also provides many other services, including conservation enforcement, environmental protection, natural resource permits, historical preservation and tribal enrollment.

Susan Klapel, Commissioner of Natural Resources: 320-532-7439, susan.klapel@millelacsband.com

Rachel Shaugobay, Director of Natural Resources Administration: 320-532-7443, rachel.shaugobay@millelacsband.com

Alyssa Welsh, Administrative Assistant to DNR: 320-532-7439, alyssa.welsh@millelacsband.com

DNR News

Wildlife Program

The Wildlife Program enhances wildlife areas and natural environments.

Kelly Applegate, Fisheries/Wildlife Biologist: 320-532-7747, kelly.applegate@millelacsband.com

Wild Rice Program

This program manages and monitors wild rice beds.

Kelly Applegate, Fisheries/Wildlife Biologist: 320-532-7747, kelly.applegate@millelacsband.com

Fisheries Program

The fisheries program prepares and coordinates with inter-agencies pertaining to fishery management.

Carl Klimah, Fisheries Biologist: 320-532-7733, (c) 320-733-0837. carl.klimah@millelacsband.com

Kelly Applegate, Fisheries/Wildlife Biologist: 320-532-7747, kelly.applegate@millelacsband.com

DNR Enforcement Program

This program utilizes Band game wardens to enforce game, fish and environmental laws.

Mike Taylor, Chief Conservation Officer: 320-532-5690 (c) 320-630-2473, mike.taylor@millelacsband.com

Tony Erholtz, Conservation Officer: 320-532-5690 (c) 320-630-2472, tony.erholtz@millelacsband.com

Jason Rice, Conservation Officer: 320-532-5690 (c) 320-630-2619, jason.rice@milleacsband.com

Leah Kampa, Conservation Officer: 320-532-5690 (c) 320-630-2472, leah.kampa@millelacsband.com

Taylor Hochstein, Conservation Officer: 320-532-5690 (c) 320-630-7331, taylor.hochstein@millelacsband.com

Hunting and Fishing Licenses

The Mille Lacs Band provides Band members with licenses to hunt and fish on tribally-owned land or off the reservation. Issuers can also assist people with other natural resource issues.

District I

Kevin Stobb, Lead Licensing Agent: 320-532-7896, kevin.stobb@millelacsband.com

District II

Randi Harrington, Licensing Agent: 218-768-3311, randi.harrington@millelacsband.com

District IIa

Carmen Green, Program Administrator: 320-676-1102, carmen.green@millelacsband.com

District III

Vanessa Gibbs, Licensing Agent: 320-384-6240,ext.230 vanessa.gibbs@millelacsband.com

Urban Office

Barb Benjamin-Robertson, Urban Program Administrator: 612-872-1424, barb.br@millelacsband.com

Environmental Programs

Environmental Programs operations, administration and coordination associated with the Environmental Protection Agency and Band funded programs. In addition, inspections of NPDES (stormwater) and Underground Storage Tanks are conducted to ensure environmental resource protection.

Perry Bunting, Director of Environmental Programs: 320-532-7446 (c) 320-630-2439, perry.bunting@millelacsband.com

Ryan Rupp, Environmental Programs Manager: 320-532-7442, ryan.rupp@millelacsband.com

Air Program

The Air Program monitors air quality, measures air contaminants, and works to correct any problems.

Charles Lippert, Air Quality Technician: 320-532-4704 charlie.lippert@millelacsband.com

Ground/Surface Water Program

This program monitors the quality of ground and surface water, measures contaminants, and works to correct any problems.

Chad Weiss, Aquatic Biologist: 320-532-7445 chad.weiss@millelacsband.com

Water Quality Lab

The Water Quality Lab conducts tests on air as well as on ground, surface, drinking and waste water.

Jeremy J. Harrington, Water Quality Technician: 320-532-7721, jeremy.harrington@millelacsband.com

Brownfield Program

Todd Moilanen, Brownfield Coordinator: 320-532-4772, todd.moilanen@millelacsband.com

 

Real Estate Services

Services are provided to Band members who have questions about land leases, purchases, or other real estate activities.

Lisa Johnson, Real Estate Director: 320-532-7552 (c) 320-630-2432, lisa.johnson@millelacsband.com

Jenny Kegg, Real Estate Clerk: 320-532-7449, jenny.kegg@millelacsband.com

Bridgett Donahue, Realty Researcher: 320-532-7702, bridgett.donahue@millelacsband.com

James Kalk, Realty Researcher: 320-532-7897, jim.kalk@millelacsband.com

Historical Preservation

This program works to preserve archaeological sites and repatriate artifacts.

Natalie Weyaus, Tribal Historic Preservation Office: 320-532-7450, natalie.weyaus@millelacsband.com

Charlie Sam, Compliance Officer: 320-532-7780 (c) 320-362-1393, charlie.sam@millelacsband.com

Terry Kemper, THPO Assistant: 320-532-7780 (c) 320-362-1393, terry.kemper@millelacsband.com

Archives

The tribal government’s archives department collects and preserves written materials for the Band and makes them available to researchers and other interested people.

Mike Wilson, Archivist: 320-532-7535, mike.wilson@millelacsband.com

Forestry/Fire Program

The Forestry/Fire Program is responsible for preventing and fighting wildfires.

Jake Horbacz, Forester: 320-532-7513 (c) 320-630-5752, jacob.horbacz@millelacsband.com

Dean Staples, Lead Forestry/Fire Technician: 320-532-7589 (c) 320-630-2431, dean.staples@millelacsband.com

Cortney Nadeau, Wildland Fire Fighter D1: 320-532-7589

Ernie Boyd, Wildland Fire Fighter D1: 320-532-7589

Vacant, Wildland Fire Fighter D2: 320-532-7589

Eli Staples, Wildland Fire Fighter D3: 320-384-6564

Vacant, Wildland Fire Fighter D3: 320-384-6564

Land Maintenance

Andrew Boyd, Environmental Projects Manager: 320-532-7779, andy.boyd@millelacsband.com

Richard Martin, Lead Land Maintenance Technician: 320-384-6564 (c) 320-630-2417

Jordan Williams, Land Maintenance Technician D1: 320-532-7439

Jeremiah Houser, Land Maintenance Technician D1: 320-532-7439 (c) 320-362-1476

Wen Aubid, Land Maintenance Technician D2: 218-768-3311 (c) 320-241-7366

Daryl Aubid, Land Maintenance Technician D2: 218-768-3311 (c) 320-241-7366

Ed St. John, Sr., Land Maintenance Technician D3: 320-384-6564

Wallace St. John, Land Maintenance Technician D3: 320-384-6564

Tribal Enrollment & Probate

This service assists people who want to enroll as a Mille Lacs Band member. It also provides enrolled Band members with tribal identification cards.

Jennifer Ballinger, Enrollments Manager: 320-532-7440, jennifer.ballinger@millelacsband.com

Vacant, Enrollments Specialist: 320-532-7784,

Matthew Mitchell, Enrollments Assistant, 320-532-7512, matthew.mitchell@millelacsband.com

Sue Engberg, Probate Clerk: 320-532-7571, susan.engberg@millelacsband.com