Tribal Court

The Tribal Court consists of a Court of Appeals and a District Court. The Appeals Court consists of an Associate Justice from each of the reservation’s three districts, one of these being the Chief Justice. The Appeals Court handles any appeals from the District Court, which is presided over by the District Court Judge. The District Court hears all civil cases, including traffic and natural resource violations, small claims, family cases, juvenile justice cases, and more. All justices are appointed by the Band’s Chief Executive and ratified by the Band Assembly to serve six-year terms.

  • Rayna Churchill, Chief Justice
  • Clarence Boyd, Associate Justice for Court of Appeals, District I
  • Brenda Moose, Associate Justice for Court of Appeals, District II
  • Rayna Churchill, Associate Justice for Court of Appeals, District III
  • David S. Christensen, District Court Judge


STAFF

Gilda Burr, Court Administrator:  Office 320-532-7401, gilda.burr@millelacsband.com

Brett Haskin, Bailiff Officer/Process Server: 320-532-7758, brett.haskin@millelacsband.com

Marie Pike, Family Court Clerk: 320-532-7404, marie.pike@millelacsband.com

Melissa Taylor, Child Support & Court of Appeals Clerk: 320-532-7553, melissa.taylor@millelacsband.com

Claire Boyd, Criminal & Civil Court Clerk: 320-532-7502, claire.boyd@millelacsband.com

Laurie Vilas, Tribal Court Peacemaker: 320-630-1132, Laurie.Vilas@hhs.millelacsband-nsn.gov

Cindi Miller, Law Clerk: 320-532-4343, Cindi.miller@millelacsband.com

Kristine Monse, Assistant Court & Administrative Clerk: 320-532-7400, Kristine.monse@millelacsband.com

SPECIAL MAGISTRATE

B.J. Jones
Joe Plumer
Tammy Swanson

HEALING CIRCLE

K.C. Paulson
Kim Sam

GUARDIAN AD LITEM

Dixie Kamimura
K.C. Paulson
Pam Chichila
Michelle Peer
Jessica Gilder-Schwartz

Precedent Case Laws
Tribal Court Calendar
Child Support Enforcement Program

Mille Lacs Band Court of Central Jurisdiction Tribal Court

43408 Oodena Drive
Onamia, MN 56359
Office: 320-532-7400
Fax: 320-532-3153 

Forms, Rules, Brochures and Important Information about Tribal Courts:

During inclement weather, please call 1-800-709-6445 to determine if the Government Center is closed or has a delay opening. If the government center is closed due to inclement weather, the Tribal Court will also be closed. If this occurs, the cases on the calendar for the day will be rescheduled and notices will be sent. When the Mille Lacs Band Government Center is delayed for opening, such as a two-hour late start, any cases scheduled prior to that will be heard upon opening.