

THE MILLE LACS BAND OF OJIBWENDIANS

Legislative Branch of Tribal Government

JOINT RESOLUTION 16-01-83-14

A JOINT RESOLUTION <u>CORRECTING</u> JOINT RESOLUTION 16-01-64-14 DEFINING THE MILLE LACS BAND RESERVATION VOTING DISTRICTS AND DESIGNATING ITS POLLING PLACES

- WHEREAS, the Mille Lacs Band Assembly is the duly elected governing body of the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe, a federally recognized Indian Tribe as established by the Revised Constitution and Bylaws of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe; and
- WHEREAS, the Chief Executive is the duly elected Executive Officer for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe; and
- WHEREAS, together the Chief Executive and Band Assembly form the Reservation Business Committee also known as the Joint Assembly as referenced in 3 MLBSA § 24; and
- WHEREAS, the Joint Assembly is the governing body for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe and it is the entity referenced in Chapter I, Section 1.3(B) of the MCT Election Ordinance #10, as amended to 11/05/13; and
- WHEREAS, Chapter I, Section 1.4(B) of the MCT Election Ordinance #10, as amended to 11/05/13, authorizes each Band governing body to designate by official action its polling places "for its respective reservation and, on the day when the Tribal Executive Committee is notified of eligible candidates under Section 1.3(C)(4), to notify TEC of the districts and designated polling places; and
- WHEREAS, Chapter I, Section 1.4(C) of the MCT Election Ordinance #10, as amended to 11/05/13, authorizes each Band governing body to establish, by official action, "voting precincts in off-reservation areas where it deems it has sufficient eligible voters to warrant such a voting polling place;" and
- WHEREAS, Chapter I, Section 1.4(D) of the MCT Election Ordinance #10, as amended to 11/05/13, authorizes each Band governing body to establish "alternative polling places in the event an emergency makes a polling place established under Section 1.4(B) unavailable; and

DISTRICT I

43408 Oodena Drive • Onamia, MN 56359 (320) 532-4181 • Fax (320) 532-4209 DISTRICT II

36666 State Highway 65 • McGregor, MN 55760 (218) 768-3311 • Fax (218) 768-3903

DISTRICT IIA

2605 Chiminising Drive • Isle, MN 56342 (320) 676-1102 • Fax (320) 676-3432

- WHEREAS, Joint Resolution 16-01-64-14 was approved by the Band governing body on February 6, 2014, but it was later found to contain an incomplete description for the voting areas in Districts II and III and it is therefore now necessary to correct the description; and
- WHEREAS, the Band governing body acknowledges that it has always been the practice to include all eligible voters within the voting districts and that this correction is necessary to reflect that practice; and
- WHEREAS, it is further acknowledged that this joint resolution will be forwarded to the Executive Director of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe for his file; and
- WHEREAS, the Band governing body hereby authorizes that the CORRECTED description of the voting districts and urban voting polling place shall be as follows:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Band governing body hereby authorizes that the voting districts for the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe shall be as follows:

District I:

District I will include all lands, including fee lands within Township 43 North, Range 27 West; Township 42 North, Range 27 West; Township 42 North, Range 26 West and that part of Township 42 North, Range 25 West that is West of the City Limits of Isle and West of Highway 17 and 27 dividing Township 42 North, Range 25 West. A voting polling place shall be located in District I (Nayahshing).

District II(a):

District II(a) comprises all lands within Township 42 North, Range 25 West that lies within the City Limits of Isle and those lands East of Highway 17 and 27 that divide Township 42 North, Range 25 West. A voting polling place shall be located in District II(a) (Chiminising).

District II:

District II is comprised of all lands within a 25 mile radius of the East Lake Community Center. A voting polling place shall be located in District II (Minisinaakwaang).

District III:

District III shall be described as all lands within a 25 mile radius of the Lake Lena Community Center, which is located in Minnesota. A voting polling place shall be located in District III (Aazhoomog).

Urban:

The urban voting polling place shall be located at All Nations Church, 1515 East 23rd St., Minneapolis, MN for those Band Members who reside in the Twin Cities and the seven counties surrounding the Minneapolis/St. Paul metro area. The counties to be included are: Hennepin (contains the city of Minneapolis), Ramsey (contains the city of St. Paul), Anoka, Washington, Carver, Scott and Dakota County. (See attached map of 7 counties.)

WE DO HEREBY CERTIFY, that this resolution was duly concurred with and adopted at a regular session of the Band Assembly in Legislative council assembled, a quorum of legislators being present held on the 5th day of March, 2014 at Vineland, Minnesota by a Vote of <u>3</u> FOR, <u>0</u> AGAINST, <u>0</u> SILENT.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we, the Band Assembly authorize the signature of the Speaker of the Assembly to be affixed to this resolution and forwarded to the Chief Executive for concurrence.

Curt Kalk, Speaker of the Assembly

IN CONCURRENCE, with the action of the Speaker of the Assembly, I, Chief Executive have set my hand to this resolution.

Mulanui Lengah

Melanie Benjamin, Chief Executive