District Court

District Court

District Court

The Mille Lacs Band District Court is the trial court of general jurisdiction. The District Court hears civil matters, criminal prosecutions, and certain administrative appeals. Cases are heard by a District Court Judge, Associate District Court Judge, and in cases of judicial conflict of intersts or as otherwise needed, Special Magistrates. The judges are law school graduates who have been admitted to practice before a state bar. The Mille Lacs Band Chief Executive submits nominations of the district Court Judge for a six-year term and the Associate Judges for a four-year term to the Mille Lacs Band Assembly for confirmation. Special Magistrates are appointed by the Chief Justice of the Court of Appeals.

During inclement weather, please call (800) 709-6445. If the Government Center is closed, the Court will be closed and cases will be rescheduled. If there is a delayed opening, cases scheduled for hearing prior to the time of reopening will be rescheduled. Matters scheduled for hearing after the time for reopening will proceed as originally scheduled.

The Mille Lacs Band Tribal Court will be continuing to hold all court hearings & trials telephonically or virtually until October 1, 2022. The Tribal Court is going thtrough a renovation and expansion, with the expected date of completion about mid-September. If you need to stop into the Court Administration area, please excuse the mess.

Judges

Honorable Richard Osburn
District Court Judge

.

Vacant
Associate District Court Judge

Court Staff

Gilda Burr
Court Administrator
gilda.burr@millelacsband.com
320-532-7401

Brett Haskin
Bailiff Officer/Process Server
brett.haskin@millelacsband.com
320-532-7758

Kristine Starr
Clerk of Court I — Adoption, Child Support, Dissolution of Marriage, Adult Guardianship, Name Change, and Probate
Kristine.Starr@millelacsband.com
320-532-7553

Melissa Taylor
Court Clerk II — Custody, Child Guardianship, and Welfare
melissa.taylor@millelacsband.com
320-532-7404

.

Jill Tompkins
Court Attorney
jill.tompkins@millelacsband.com
320-532-7597

Theresa James
Healing to Wellness Court Case Manager
theresa.james2@milllacsband.com
320-532-7597

Carrie Boyd
Assistant Court & Administrative Clerk
320-532-7400

Arlene Bentley
Court Clerk I — Civil, Order for Protection, Harassment, Garnishments, Electric, GRA Appeals, and Employment Appeals
arlene.bentley@millelacsband.com
320-532-7538

.

Kitty Johnson
Court Clerk II — Truancy, Unlawful Detainers, Criminal, Natural Resource, Traffic, and Court of Appeals
Kitty.Johnson2@millelacsband.com
320-532-7502

Laurie Vilas
Tribal Court Peacemaker
Laurie.Vilas@millelacsband.com
320-532-4769
320-630-1132

Special Magistrate
B.J. Jones
Joe Plumer
Tammy Swanson

Guardian ad Litem
Dixie Kamimura
Pam Chichila
Jessica Gilder-Schwartz
Jeannie Reams
Cynthia Bahe

UNDERSTANDING SERVICE OF PROCESS

Please watch the video below if you are trying to file a new court case or a motion. Normally, serving all parties is the responsibility of the petitioner when a new case is filed, but when filing a case in Tribal Court, our Bailiff/Process Server will serve the paperwork if there is a current address listed. However, our Bailiff/Process Server will not serve Motion forms. Any Motions filed must be accomplished by the motioning party.

Get in the Circle (PSA) from State Courts on Vimeo.